top of page
Writer's pictureAudrey DiMella

5 Favorite Top Trends: Summer 2018

Updated: May 5, 2020

Summer 2018 has brought many new trends among us, and I am am going to list my top 5 favorite ones!


 


1. Paper bag shorts


The first trend I'm going to talk about is paper bag shorts. Paper bag shorts started popping up in common chain stores like Banana Republic, J.Crew, and Zara.


Shorts on the left:

https://www.zara.com/us/en/paper-bag-shorts-p07385191.html






What do I pair with Paper bag shorts?


Bodysuits

I love bodysuits because they don't show lines and crease up like other shirts do when you tuck them in!

In my opinion, these shorts are already a statement, so when it comes to pairing it with a top I would keep it simple so it doesn't take aways from the shorts.

Bodysuits can be bought just about anywhere, but I would check out Forever 21 because they have a huge variety


2. Tassel Earrings



These are a couple examples of tassel earrings that are perfect for dressing up any outfit or adding a statement! I found all of these on the Francesca's boutique website!







3. Dramatic Sunglasses


Dramatic sunglasses are perfect for adding to any outfit while also staying functional!

The sunglasses I'm wearing in the pic on the left are from Franchesca's!

I feel like sunglasses are so essential to an outfit because they can tie together a whole look. There are so many different styles which makes it easy to find a pair that fit your needs. I specifically chose black sunglasses with a bit of a cat eye to add drama to this look because I kept it super simple with a dress and heels.







4. Patterned Slacks


These two pairs of slacks are from Banana Republic. A solid color shirt can be paired with any type of pattern. If you're going with patterned pants that have multiple colors I would chose a color within the pattern that you like the best and incorporate that in the top.

I like to stick to loose tops when it comes to slacks because they are mostly tight so the flow adds balance.

Patterned pants are also super comfortable (in my opinion), so they are my go to when it comes to dressing business casual.


5. One piece bathing suits


One Piece bathing suits have become a lot more common this summer. The bathing suit on the left can be found at Aeri!

I love this type of bathing suit because for me its a lot more comfortable and secure than a bikini.

This summer there has been so many details added to one pieces that spices them up and makes them a lot more fun.








15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page